Thursday, February 23, 2012

2011 Agatha Nominees!

Each year, the attendees of the “Malice Domestic Convention” give awards to the books they consider to be the best traditional mysteries first published in the US in a given calendar year.  “Traditional mysteries”  are defined as books which contain no explicit sex, excessive gore or gratuitous violence.  The works of Agatha Christie are those held up as an example, hence the awards are called “The Agatha Awards.”  The winners will be announced April 28, 2012.  The nominees are:

Best Novel:

The Real Macaw
by Donna Andrews

The Diva Haunts the House
by Krista Davis

Wicked Autumn
by G.M. Malliet

Three Day Town
by Margaret Maron

A Trick of the Light
by Louise Penny

Best First Novel:

Dire Threads
(A Threadville Mystery) by Janet Bolin

 by Kaye George

Learning to Swim
by Sara J. Henry

Who Do, Voodoo?
(A Mind for Murder Mystery) by Rochelle Staab

Tempest in the Tea Leaves
(A Fortune Teller Mystery) by Kari Lee Townsend 

Best Historical Novel:

Naughty in Nice
by Rhys Bowen

Murder Your Darlings
by J.J. Murphy

Mercury's Rise
by Ann Parker

Troubled Bones
by Jeri Westerson

A Lesson in Secrets
by Jacqueline Winspear

For a complete list of all the nominees as well as a list of past winners, visit Malice Domestic.

No comments:

Post a Comment